TITLE II

Chapter 6

BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

6.01	Board of Appeals	6.06	Plan Commission
6.02	Emergency Government	6.07	Board of Public Works
6.03	Board of Health	6.08	Board of Review
6.04	Library Board	6.09	Water & Sewer Committee
6.05	Park Commission		

6.01 BOARD OF APPEALS

The Board of Appeals is set forth elsewhere in these ordinances, being part of the comprehensive zoning ordinance.

6.02 EMERGENCY GOVERNMENT

- (1) A joint action ordinance with the County Board of Supervisors of Trempealeau County providing a county municipal joint action emergency government plan of organization is hereby adopted and incorporated by reference.
- (2) The county municipal emergency government coordinator, appointed and employed by the Trempealeau County Board of Supervisors, pursuant to said county ordinance, is hereby designated and appointed emergency government coordinator for the City of Blair. Such appointment, duties and responsibilities are subject to the said ordinance and applicable Wisconsin Statutes.

6.03 BOARD OF HEALTH

- (1) The Board of Health shall consist of three (3) persons appointed by the mayor. At least one of the persons must be a member of the City Council.
- (2) The Board shall select a chairman from its membership.
- (3) The Board shall perform such duties and take upon itself such measures as shall be most effectual for the preservation of public health.
- (4) The City, acting upon recommendation of the board and health officer, may participate in a county health commission if so adopted and implemented by Trempealeau County. Such participation may only be authorized after public hearing and adoption of an ordinance authorizing same by action of the Council.

6.04 LIBRARY BOARD

- (1) The Library Board shall consist of seven (7) members. One of the members shall be the Blair-Taylor School District Administrator, or his representative, and one (1) member shall be an alderman.
- (2) The Board shall be divided into three (3) classes as of the first appointment, with three (3) to serve for three (3) years, two (2) to serve for two (2) years and two (2) to

- serve for one (1) year. Thereafter, each regular appointment shall be for a term of three (3) years.
- (3) The duties and responsibilities of the Board shall be as set forth in Section 43.58, Wis. Stat., herein incorporated by reference.
- A majority of the membership of the Board shall constitute a quorum for conducting (4) business.
- Members shall organize and select a presiding officer and any other officer they (5) deem necessary.

6.05 PARK COMMISSION

- (1) The Park Commission shall consist of three (3) members of the Council, appointed by the Mayor
- (2) The Commission shall select a presiding officer.
- (3) Section 27.08, Wis. Stat. shall govern unless inconsistent with these Ordinances.

6.06 PLAN COMMISSION

- (1) The Plan Commission shall consist of seven (7) members. The members shall be the Mayor, the presiding officer of the Park Commission, an alderman and four (4) citizens.
- (2) The alderman and citizen members shall be appointed by the Mayor. The Mayor shall choose the presiding officer.
- The terms of the Mayor, presiding officer of the Park Commission and (3) alderman shall be consistent with their terms of office.
- (4) The citizen members shall hold office for a term of three (3) years. Appointments to the Plan Commission shall be made during the Month of April for terms to expire in April or at any other time if a vacancy occurs during the middle of a term.
- (5) The duties and responsibilities of the Plan Commission shall be as set forth in Section 62.23, Wis. Stat., unless otherwise modified by this ordinance.

6.07 **BOARD OF PUBLIC WORKS**

- (1) The Board of Public Works shall consist of three (3) commissioners appointed by the Mayor. At least one (1) commissioner must be an alderman.
- (2) The Commissioners of the initial Board of Public Works shall hold their offices for one (1), two (2) and three (3) years respectively and thereafter be appointed for a term of three (3) years.
- (3) The Commission shall work with any duly appointed standing or special committee of the Council in the performance of its duties and responsibilities.

- (4) The Commission shall select a presiding officer from its members.
- (5) Aside from cooperating with any standing or special committee of the Council, the commission shall supervise all public works and shall perform such other duties as provided by these Ordinances and applicable Wisconsin law.

6.08 BOARD OF REVIEW

- (1) The Board of Review shall consist of the Mayor and members of the City Council.
- (2) A quorum of the Board shall be four (4) members and the Mayor may be counted as a member of the Board for purposes of establishing a quorum.
- (3) The time and place of meeting, notice of meeting, adjournment and other provisions relative to procedure are set forth in Section 70.47, Wis. Stat., herein incorporated by reference.
- (4) The City Assessor shall attend, without order or subpoena, all hearing and meetings of the Board of Review.

6.09 WATER & SEWER COMMITTEE

- (1) The Water & Sewer Committee shall consist of three (3) members appointed by the Mayor. At least one (1) member of the board shall be an alderman.
- (2) Members of the Committee who are not aldermen shall serve for a term of three (3) years.
- (3) The duties and responsibilities of the Committee shall be as directed by the Council, not inconsistent with Wisconsin law.

March 3, 2014 – repeal and recreate Section 6.06 September 12, 2016 – repeal Section 6.10 August 7, 2023 – amended Section 6.07 & 6.09